Subscribe to Newsletter

Sanduk Ruit and Geoffrey Tabin

The Power List 2019 – Champions of Change

Sanduk Ruit and Geoffrey Tabin

Founding Co-Chairmen of the Himalayan Cataract Project

Ruit is Founder and Executive Director of the Tilganga Institute of Ophthalmology, Nepal
Tabin is Fairweather Foundation Endowed Chair, Professor of Ophthalmology and Global Medicine at Stanford University, USA

What is the best part of being an ophthalmologist?

Ruit: It is the beautiful experience of bringing somebody out of the darkness. When it is done at the community level, it is a very strong public health tool that benefits thousands.

What has been the pivotal moment of your career?

Ruit: It was the formal opening of the Tilganga Eye Center.
Tabin: The pivotal moment in my career was meeting my partner/elder brother, Sanduk Ruit on my first cataract outreach in Nepal during my fellowship.

Who are your ophthalmic heroes?

Ruit: Sir Harold Ridley and Fred Hollows are the people I have looked up to the most.
Tabin: I have many ophthalmic heroes. Topping the list are Govindappa Venkataswamy, Sanduk Ruit, Hugh Taylor, David Chang, Fred Hollows, Mike Wiedman, Dick Litwin, and Nag Rao.

Any advice for those following in your footsteps?

Tabin: Listen to and learn from your mentors, always strive to do the best you can, take advantage of opportunities and never ration your passion!

Part of the Power List 2019

Find out more

This year we have 50 of the best inventors, mentors, emerging leaders, surgical pioneers and champions of change. With our “Five Top Tens,” we hope to showcase the best, the brightest, and the most forward-thinking that ophthalmology has to offer.

Go to The Power List 2019

Register to The Ophthalmologist

Register to access our FREE online portfolio, request the magazine in print and manage your preferences.

You will benefit from:
  • Unlimited access to ALL articles
  • News, interviews & opinions from leading industry experts
  • Receive print (and PDF) copies of The Ophthalmologist magazine



The Ophthalmologist website is intended solely for the eyes of healthcare professionals. Please confirm below: